Trial and Error – BCM240 Reflection

It’s now time to reflect on 8 weeks of blogging for my university subject BCM240 – Media, Audience and Place. For all of 2012 I blogged for two university subjects however this time round it has been different. Personally I feel I have developed as a writer (or some may argue blogger) and found a connection with my audience.

My aim for this semester was to drive more traffic to my blog as it was only getting limited views, mainly students from UOW. I found that by doing some research I would be able to optimise my success by increasing traffic and widening my audience. Reynolds (2013) states that by sharing your blog on social media sites it will increase your traffic immensely.

Use a two-pronged approach with a variety of platforms and different types of media to get your posts shared – Kimberly Reynolds

I have already been sharing content on social media sites since the beginning of my degree in 2012, however I am always hesitant to share my University blog with my Facebook friends. My reasoning for this is because I don’t want them to judge me and I like knowing that my audience is somewhat anonymous or students at UOW.

Moving on from my fear of judgment, I have found that by sharing the link of my blog on social media there is always an influx of views. Firstly I turned to Twitter to promote my blog, this worked well as I was able to aggregate the content to BCM240 students by using the hashtag #bcm240. This lead to further follower’s and comments on my WordPress blog. I have also recently noticed people liking my links on Twitter (this makes me smile a little and gives me further confidence to continue blogging). When sharing links on Twitter Heidi Cohen (2013) suggests that we need to know our target audience, have regularity in our posts, include images and make posts interactive, catchy headlines to attract the audience and finally formatting your blog post to facilitate consumption. I have attempted adopted all of these techniques and I believe they have been integral to its success. Furthermore I have integrated my Twitter feed on my WordPress blog, which has, also lead people to my Twitter account.

Moreover I’d like to introduced the website Reddit – a social news and entertainment website where registered users submit content in the form of either a link or a text post (Wikipedia 2013). Reddit allows you to post to a ‘subreddit’ that focuses audiences, in turn enhancing readership and the retention of your audience as they are interested in the specific topic of media and communications. For example on the 4th of September I posted a blog tiled ‘Then and Now – The Beatle’s vs One Direction’. I then went to social media, tweeting the link and posting it on Reddit, in the subreddit category ‘funny’. The statistics show that there were 57 views from Reddit, 2 views from search engines and 2 views from the WordPress reader, all within an hour. What was most surprising was the range of countries the views came from.

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 5.08.49 PM

 

I’d also like to suggest that making commenting on other students blogs compulsory as this was set for a previous subject of mine, DIGC202. This drove further traffic to my blog, encouraged student interaction and allowed me to draw inspiration and further insight from other students blogs.

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 5.35.57 PM

[This comment was in reply to Tiana Bezzina’s blog]

Overall blogging for BCM240 has been a challenging yet great experience. I have successfully drove traffic to my blog by utilizing social media and Reddit and I have built virtual relationships with students by commenting on their blogs. Hopefully in the future I gain enough confidence to share my blog with Facebook friends.

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 5.16.18 PM

References

Cohen, H 2013, 25 tactics to Promote Your Blog via Facebook and Twitter, accessed 13/08/2013, http://heidicohen.com/25-tactics-to-promote-your-blog-via-facebook-and-twitter/

Renyolds, K 2012, 5 Creative Ways to Drive More Traffic to Your blog posts, Social Media Examiner, accessed 29/08/2013, http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/5-creative-ways-to-drive-more-traffic-to-your-blog-posts/

Wikipedia 2013, Reddit, viewed 26/09/2013, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reddit

About Nicola Salter

Nicola. 21. UOW Graduate
This entry was posted in BCM310 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trial and Error – BCM240 Reflection

  1. Keziah says:

    Sharing your blog on Reddit was a great idea! Why didn’t I think of that? Haha

Leave a Reply

