iChild

iphone-in-kids-hands1

 

As a communications and media student I often find myself spotting the odd use of technology, commonly on trains when people think it’s okay to blast their music when you are sitting right next to them. One that particularly gets on my nerves is children’s use of smart phones at restaurants. I see this on a constant basis as I work in hospitality, Mothers, Fathers and Grandparents throwing these devices at their children in order to stop the tears, avoid an argument and for their pure enjoyment of the peace and quiet. Don’t get me wrong I’d rather a toddler have a screen 4cms from their face than a screaming child because their Mothers would not hand over their phones, however I also believe that other more traditional options are being over looked and replaced by connivence of technology.

As a child I had conversations with my parents, drew on table clothes, played hangman and noughts and crosses whilst out for dinner. Time and time again I see children fixated on their video games or movie not engaging in social interaction or acknowledging a waitresses presence when their food is placed in front of them. If children are continually brought up like this I’m afraid they may not be able to hold a sophisticated conversation.

The next child I see reading a book I’ll happily give them a round of applause.

Image source: http://www.thedoctormom.com/2010/11/itoddler.html

About Nicola Salter

Nicola. 21. UOW Graduate
This entry was posted in BCM310 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

