It’s time to reflect!

So here we are, reflecting on the past 10 weeks of learning about convergent media practices. After multiple lectures, readings and tutorials I believe my own knowledge of convergent media has developed into a wider understanding, branching out further then I ever had imagined.

In the first lecture, I remember being told that a portion of the outcome in this course was to establish and online portfolio, meanwhile, in this short time frame I now have Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, Pinterest, Vimeo and Soundcloud accounts, I think we can definitely conclude that I have established an online portfolio.

The three topics, which I found most intriguing were, ‘Triumph of the nerd…’, ‘Transmedia narratives…’ and ‘Citizen journalism….’, all which played an integral part in developing my understanding of convergent media. Throughout my blogs, titled, Geek Chic, Transmedia Storytelling and Citizen Journalism, I attempted to provide an in-depth reflection on the topic however I often found myself summarising which was clearly reflected in my marks.

In the week 6 blog post, I discussed how transmedia narratives have affected both the prosumer and consumer. I was introduced to new concepts such as hybridity and cross culturalisation which were so what foreign to me prior to this course. Come to think of it, I had never considered the large extent of audience participation and how, as fans, we have the ability to introduce potential plots, as we attempt to fill in the gaps within a story.

I found the blog post in week 7 extremely intriguing, as I love the fact that nerds have become cool and that it is our convergent culture, which has enabled this transformation (thankyou Steve Jobs). I also found your blog (woefully imprecise) extremely influential as it gave me an insight into the intriguing content of the nerd culture, which I have never considered before. Furthermore the connection I made between our perception of Geeks and Hollywood’s interpretation was kind of a slap in the face, as if I should I have figure this transformation out earlier.

Finally week 9’s blog post emphasised how Citizen Journalism is changing the content of mainstream media. Our dependency on citizen journalism has been emphasised by events such as Kony 2012 and video evidence of a man falling from scaffolding, which has been used in recent mainstream media. The final source used in the blog demonstrated the point that mainstream media increasingly depends on citizen journalism.

About Nicola Salter

Nicola. 21. UOW Graduate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

